A330 Type Rating Course

General Information

This course is for pilots that wish to obtain an A330/350 Type Rating and it is conducted according to EASA Part-FCL Regulations. An A330/350 type rating can be conducted either as a Standard Transition A330/350 Type Rating or as a fly-by-wire CCQ Course to the A330/350.

Note: The A330 is a common Type Rating with the A350. Therefore, when a pilot gets qualified on either aircraft, the endorsement on his/her licence is A330/350. Dento ATO is currently approved to deliver CCQ courses on the A320, A340 to A330/350 aircraft.


An applicant for the first type rating course for a multi-pilot aeroplane shall be a student pilot currently undergoing training on an MPL training course or comply with the following requirements:

Have at least 70 hours of flight experience as PIC on aeroplanes
Hold a multi-engine IR(A)
Have passed the ATPL(A) theoretical knowledge examinations in accordance with Part-FCL

Except when the type rating course is combined with an MCC course

Hold a certificate of satisfactory completion of an MCC course in aeroplanes; or
Have at least 500 hours as a pilot in multi-pilot operations on single-pilot multiengine aeroplanes, in commercial air transport.

For pilots who are qualified in another fly-by-wire Airbus and are entitled to a CCQ course on the A330/350, they must be current, qualified (valid LPC) and experienced on the base aircraft.

Minimum experience on the base aircraft is 3 months and 150 hours on the base aircraft. Pilots should have a very good knowledge of the base aircraft systems prior to commencing a CCQ course, as the training programme will only present the differences between their current aircraft type and the A330/350.

Note: Pilots not current but holding a valid LPC on the base aircraft, may be eligible for a CCQ via a refresher programme.

Standard Type Rating or CCQ Type Rating Course

Whether you conduct a Standard Transition Type Rating Course or a CCQ Course, the courses are divided into the following phases, as appropriate:

Ground phase

  • System study is achieved by CBT (Computer Based Training). However, when conducting a Standard Transition Course the CBT syllabus covers fully all subjects, whilst during a CCQ course the CBT syllabus only covers the differences between the base aircraft and the new type.
  • At the end of the CBT the system test (CBT), a theoretical knowledge examination shall be taken. This examination comprises of 100 multiple-choice questions distributed appropriately across the A330/350 systems and a 75% pass mark should be achieved.

Flight Phase

Base training if applicable or Zero flight Time Training (ZFTT) session.

Simulator Phase

  • All items identified in the A330/350 OSD must be trained.
  • Except when conducting a CCQ to the A330/350, the minimum of 32 hours of FSTD training is programmed for a crew of a multipilot aeroplane (eg acting 16hrs as PF and 16hrs as PM).

Skill Test

  • The last 4hrs of the above mentioned are utilized for the conduct of a Licence Skill Test (LST).

Airbus A330/350 CCQ Footprints

  • A320 to A330

    4 days Ground Phase + 4 days combine Simulator Training, Skill Test and ZFTT.
  • A340 to A330:

    1 days Ground Phase + 1 days combine Simulator Training, Skill Test and ZFTT.


It is always highly recommended to have two trainees training together for their A330/350 type qualification and with thus pilots will be practising in both the PF and PM roles.


Do you need more information?
Send us a message and we will get back to you!