Airbus A340 Type Rating Course

General Information

This course is for pilots that wish to obtain an A340 Type Rating and it is conducted according to EASA Part-FCL Regulations. An A340 type rating can be conducted either as a Standard Transition A340 Type Rating or as a fly-by-wire CCQ Course to the A340.

Note: Dento ATO is currently approved to deliver CCQ courses on the A320, A330/3550 to A340 aircraft.


An applicant for the first type rating course for a multi-pilot aeroplane shall be a student pilot currently undergoing training on an MPL training course or comply with the following requirements:

Have at least 70 hours of flight experience as PIC on aeroplanes
Hold a multi-engine IR(A)
Have passed the ATPL(A) theoretical knowledge examinations in accordance with Part-FCL

Except when the type rating course is combined with an MCC course

Hold a certificate of satisfactory completion of an MCC course in aeroplanes; or
Have at least 500 hours as a pilot in multi-pilot operations on single-pilot multiengine aeroplanes, in commercial air transport.

For pilots who are qualified in another fly-by-wire Airbus and are entitled to a CCQ course on the A340, they must be current, qualified (valid LPC) and experienced on the base aircraft.

Minimum experience on the base aircraft is 3 months and 150 hours on the base aircraft. Pilots should have a very good knowledge of the base aircraft systems prior to commencing a CCQ course, as the training programme will only present the differences between their current aircraft type and the A340.

Note: Pilots not current but holding a valid LPC on the base aircraft, may be eligible for a CCQ via a refresher programme.

Standard Type Rating or CCQ Type Rating Course

Whether you conduct a Standard Transition Type Rating Course or a CCQ Course, the courses are divided into the following phases, as appropriate:

Ground phase

  • System study is achieved by CBT (Computer Based Training). However, when conducting a Standard Transition Course the CBT syllabus covers fully all subjects, whilst during a CCQ course the CBT syllabus only covers the differences between the base aircraft and the new type.
  • At the end of the CBT the system test (CBT), a theoretical knowledge examination shall be taken. This examination comprises of 100 multiple-choice questions distributed appropriately across the A320 systems and a 75% pass mark should be achieved.

Flight Phase

Base training if applicable or Zero flight Time Training (ZFTT) session.

Simulator Phase

  • All items identified in the A340 OSD must be trained.
  • Except when conducting a CCQ to the A340, the minimum of 32 hours of FSTD training is programmed for a crew of a multipilot aeroplane (eg acting 16hrs as PF and 16hrs as PM).

Skill Test

  • The last 4hrs of the above mentioned are utilized for the conduct of a Licence Skill Test (LST).

Airbus A340 CCQ Footprints

  • A320 to A340

    4 days Ground Phase + 4 days combine Simulator Training, Skill Test and ZFTT.
  • A330/350 to A340

    1 day Ground Phase + 2 days combine Simulator Training, Skill Test and ZFTT.


It is always highly recommended to have two trainees training together for their A340 type qualification and with thus pilots will be practising in both the PF and PM roles.


Do you need more information?
Send us a message and we will get back to you!